jump to navigation

Let’s Start At the Beginning April 24, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Art.
Tags: ,
trackback

Now that the second tree in the series is done, it’s time to start the next one.  Generally speaking I only have vague notions about where I want to go with this.  This morning I was in a long, boring meeting and I usually doodle while in those.  My thoughts and pen turned to trees.

It begins

In the late 80’s, early 90’s I lived in northern Florida in a house next to an actual bayou.  We had knobby kneed cypruss trees, alligators, weepy spanish moss bearded trees, the whole nine yards.  It was very “atmospheric”.  This was the kind of scene I wanted for one of these paintings.  I like this doodle / sketch and I think it will work well in the scene I’m now imagining.  I usually only post stuff that is done, or nearly so, but this time I thought y’all might like to see what goes into the art sausage.  It often starts out with something like this.

Comments

1. Lemur King - April 25, 2008

I picture a tree, reclining, with it’s right arm (branch) pointing to something, while resting it’s left arm (branch) against something slightly behind it, and the roots that are near the center about 2/3 of the way down are it’s feet (roots), lifting it’s heels off the ground on it’s toes.

Would you mind if I tried playing with that sketch? I think it has all sorts of potential in lots of different directions. Some whimsical, some dark.

2. Enas Yorl - April 25, 2008

Yah, the Tree is getting anthropomorphological. I’ll get comparisons to Ents and whatnot but what the hell.

Sure, have fun and play around with it! I hope you’re feeling better.

3. Lemur King - April 25, 2008

You know, I hadn’t even thought “Ents”.

Yeah, feeling better. I am now a converted believer in acupuncture. I’ll post on it tonight after Dr. Who and Battlestar Galactica are over. (11pm Eastern)

4. Lemur King - April 26, 2008

How about trees in this style, each one representing the seven deadly sins?

5. Enas Yorl - April 26, 2008

Seven deadly sins. Hmmm. I had to re-aquaint myself with the particulars:

1. Lust
2. Gluttony
3. Greed
4. Sloth
5. Wrath
6. Envy
7. Pride

Some of these wouldn’t be too hard – I can see gluttony and wrath. But an envious tree? Lustful? “Hey Baby! I got wood for Yew!” Hm. It’s worth considering anyway.

I have to ask though – whatever made you think of this?

Oh, and I must say that I recognize several of my character flaws in this list. Thanks for making me feel bad about myself LK.

6. Lemur King - April 26, 2008

I just gotta be me… spreading fear and loathing where’er I may roam. 🙂

Well, I was looking at the tree and to me it looked like it was reclining and pointing to something off to the left. It looked like someone pointing to another to go get something, and I thought… mmm… Sloth… Lazy… hmmm.

Angry trees shaking limbs at the sky, lustful trees lifting foliage, fat trees bearing no fruit… you get the idea. I like the “hey baby, got wood” one! The “Yew” brought a tear to my eye.

Proud… make a tree with a stance like Mr. Incredible and you’d be spot on.

For some reason I picture them in a circle like Stonehenge.

7. Lemur King - April 26, 2008

Try it now. Not as I’d like because I can’t use GIMP. Adobe Elements is hard to work with to get it to do what you want.

Yes, I could use GIMP but not with the tablet! Frustrating… need to try it under linux.

Anyhow, go here to look at it:

http://lemurking.wordpress.com/enas-tree/

8. pajama momma - May 1, 2008

hey you! You didn’t live in Jacksonville did you? Sometime I’ll have to tell you about the painting we found in the attic in the house we moved into here in Florida. It was by this guy Harold Newton and I sold it for almost $3000 on e-bay.

9. Enas Yorl - May 1, 2008

Jacksonville – nope! We were in an out-of-the-way backwater called Bayou George that was 30 minutes outside of Panama City.

Nice find PJM! It looks like he does really good work. Why didn’t you keep it?

10. pajama momma - May 2, 2008

To tell the truth, I get bummed when I think about the fact that I sold it. When I wrote the comment, I had the feeling of total bummed-ness. Sadly, we needed it for our $2500 a month stupid mortgage payment. Pool sales are slow in winter time, even in Florida.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

