jump to navigation

Birthday Present March 16, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Science & Technology.
trackback

Sometime next week I get my $2,000 – Uncle Sam’s pound o’flesh bonus check.  I also have a birthday coming up next month and I’ve been considering another gun purchase.  I am now reconsidering this purchase for something else – a nice bed.  Every morning I get up with sore hips and back and I don’t sleep very well during the night.  Hell, I don’t remember the last time I slept all the way through.  My current bed is a Serta Perfect Sleeper and it’s probably about 10 years old.  It has some sags in it and flipping the matress doesn’t work anymore.

Here’s what I’m looking at now:  Select Comfort 6000.  The configuration I’m looking at for that model runs about $2500.  Plus another $150 for delivery, installation and removal of the old bed.  Expensive?  Yup!  It would be worth every penny though if it would give me a decent night’s sleep.  My parents have a Select Comfort bed and they love it.  What about y’all?  Any opinions out there in the Peanut Gallery?

Comments

1. Kowboy - March 16, 2008

About a year ago I bought a new bed with a memory foam mattress. I haven’t woke up since with my back bothering me. I think it’s a Sealy. Aside from my grandmother’s old feather bed when I was a child, it’s the most comfortable mattress I’ve ever slept on. The queen size mattress was about $1200 but well worth it IMHO.

2. ian - March 20, 2008

Hi Enas,
I’m Ian and I work for Select Comfort, the creators of the Sleep Number bed. I spotted your blog post and wanted to comment. The Sleep Number 6000 is new to our bed line and we’re very excited about it. The bed is a great combination of the most popular features of the Sleep Number bed.
Your comfort and satisfaction are very important to us. Please do feel free to contact us at customerservice@selectcomfort.com with any questions that you may have or call 800-344-6561 to place an order.
Sincerely,
Ian Thielke

3. Enas Yorl - March 20, 2008

Hullo there Ian. We have a SC store here in town and I’m going to go there and check them out this weekend. I’ll be sure to post a full report.

4. Veeshir - March 25, 2008

Pretty funny, my birthday was the last week.

This month is a 3-paycheck-month and I got my taxes back.
What to do, what to do? I went with guns.
I ordered a .475 Wildey, ordered a .50 Beowulf and bought a consignment Beretta Storm.
I know, too much.I went in to order the two and saw the Beretta on the consignment rack. I picked it up because I’ve always liked them but I thought they only came in 9mm, this one is .45ACP. Mine.
I figured the .50 Beowulf would take 3 months and the Wildey would take at least a month so I could save up.
Nuh-uh, they got a used Beowulf in a couple days later, I saved over $200 so I got it and canceled the order. The .475 Wildey is supposedly coming in this week (2 weeks later instead of 1month), so I’m darn broke, but man am I ready for the fall of civilization.

5. Enas Yorl - March 25, 2008

Well, quite the shopping spree there Veeshir! Hopefully you saved some $$ for the ammo. Alas, I’m gonna have to make do with the .357 magnum revolver, .22 rifle and 12 gauge shotgun I have already for a while.

6. Veeshir - March 26, 2008

Ammo?!?!?!!
Oh crap!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

