jump to navigation

Fred Out? January 21, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Politics.
trackback

It looks very likely considering his not so great results in South Carolina & elsewhere, and the fact that he’s pretty much out of money.  Sad, but not really unexpected at this point.  I had really high hopes for him last summer when rumors he was considering a run were flying around.  I really think he was the best guy for the job considering the rest of the field in the GOP – hell, I even sent him $100.  Now, of course Ace is airing the rumors are that he’s eyeballing a VP spot.  If it is true, at this point I’m hoping he throws his support behind Romney and that Mitt, in turn gives Fred! a real consideration for his running mate.  I sorta expect that Fred? will actually toss in with McCain though.  That would be unfortunate as I don’t think I can support McCain.  I get waves of Han Solo levels of A Bad Feeling About This every time I see the guy.  I don’t like the Arkansas shuckster Huckabee at all.  The man is dangerously incompetent.  I don’t think I would mind Rudy, but his candidacy is tanking right along with Fred’s so he’s not really even in the picture at this point.  Go Romney/Thompson in ’08! 

I guess.  I dunno.  Sometimes I wonder if maybe we deserve another disasterous Carter-like dimocrap presidency that the Shrillery or Obamination would certainly give us.  It would suck major ass for a lot of people to be sure, but maybe it might be better for the country as a whole in the long term?  Or not.  I can foresee a myriad of extremly bad things stemming out of just such a thing too.  We can only do what we can do though and make the best out of what we’re given.

Comments

1. Enas Yorl - January 22, 2008

Yup he’s out. And no endorsement! Likely not a vp guy either it seems. Hmmm.

2. Mr Minority - January 22, 2008

Enas,
I am with you, depressed that Fred! didn’t get the traction or votes he deserved.

Looks like I will have to support Mitt now, because I refuse to support the snake oil salesman Huckabee and I don’t like Johhny Mac’s liberalism.

This sucks!!

Mr Minority

3. Steamboat McGoo - January 22, 2008

Yep to both of you. He’s out, no endorsement (I can’t blame him), and its looking like I’ll have to support Mitt. McCain is damaged goods and I won’t touch him.

But basically I’ll simply be casting a vote against the Bitch and the Fairytale.

We are in deep shit this time, folks. We need a strong one now. Not a pussy, and not a Lib or a RINO. The game is in progress as we speak, and we need someone who can finish what W started. it won’t be a Liberal.

I repeat: this country’s butt is hanging out a bit. We need strength in the Oval Office, not blabber and appeasement.

4. pajama momma - January 22, 2008

I’m in Florida and I wasn’t even given the chance show Fred he was wanted.

It’s interesting to see everyone here and on Ace’s say Mitt because I’m curious to see if we’re in our own little bubble or if the rest of the country agrees with us.

5. nicedeb - January 22, 2008

I think this is going to give Mitt a huge bump.

– Hugh Hewitt

6. Steamboat McGoo - January 23, 2008

pajama mama – The MSM are sure pushing McCain. I, too, wonder where the Fred votes are going to go.

7. Pupster - January 23, 2008

I don’t understand why Rudy! isn’t getting more Fredhead support. I don’t have a big problem with Mitt like do with McCain, but I don’t see why most Fred supporters have moved toward Mitt over Rudy!

Maybe I’m wrong, but I don’t see much difference in the negatives of Mitt vs. Rudy.

8. Enas Yorl - January 23, 2008

I don’t have a big problem with Rudy either – he’s socially liberal, but conservative enough on the big issues for me to be okay to vote for him. But he’s on his way out, and so is Huckleberry (I hope). We need somebody strong enough to keep the nomination away from McCain, and he’s the only one with the money and organization to do so. The Mormon thing is going to be a problem for him in the general election though. I hope it doesn’t prove to be his Achillis’ heel.

9. porknbean - January 23, 2008

I don’t get why some people are making a big issue over the Mormon thing. (hello, btw)
I know very little about the religion, like they don’t blow shit up or shave their heads and beat tamborines at airports. For the most part they come off as upstanding hardworking citizens. If he gets the nod, I just hope he is smart enough to hire some firecracker opposition researchers to blast that nasty set of commie thighs out of the water. There is so much ammo of her own corrupt doing that can be used on her… I just shake my head how dim Obama is… Unless he is holding fire to be vp.

10. Enas Yorl - January 25, 2008

Howdy Porknbean – thanks for the visit!

I don’t have a problem with Mormons, but a lot of people in the more mainstream Christian circles view them as a cult. All the ones I’ve met and worked with are just as you described them: upstanding, hardworking citizens. The Huckahillbillians are going to have a hard problem voting for him though, and may sit out or something. I dunno. We’ll see I guess.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

