jump to navigation

Right To Bear Arms Exercised November 24, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Guns.
trackback

Today I went down and bought myself a handgun.  I’ve been thinking about it for quite some time and I finally decided to go ahead and get one.  What did I get?  This one:

Bang bang

This is a Smith & Wesson Model 686 Plus Revolver – 4″, 7-Shot.  It’s chambered for .357 Magnum and .38 S&W Special +P calibers.

I went to The Gun Store as recommended by several people and told the guy what I was interested in:  a revolver for home defence and range shooting / recreation.  He went right for this one, which was interesting as I was looking at this exact model on-line the day before.  I rented the six shot version, picked my target and headed over to the range.  The place was busy!  I was surprised.  The range was already crowded and I went back there with four of five other people who were also trying out handguns.  I was up first out of our group.  The Range Guy loaded up my gun with the fast loader with five rounds in it and handed me the gun. 

Target

I guess I shot 25 rounds.  There are 21 distinct holes in the target with a couple that had more than one hit in that vicinity.  I know I hit the paper every time.  All but two of the shots were single-action.  The double action ones are the two off to the left of the head.

The gun handled beautifully, and was very comfortable to hold.  Once I was finished shooting (man that went by fast!) I knew that this was a gun that I could handle and shoot with confidence.  With some practice I know I can get a lot more accurate with it too.  So, after work next Tuesday I’ll go back to the store and get my gun!  And a cleaning kit and ammo and maybe a holster.  I’ll start looking into the CCW permit too and see what all that entails.  I signed up for NRA membership earlier this week and sent in my dues for 2008. 

So there it is.  I hope I’ll never have to use this or any gun outside of the range or other recreational shooting, but if I do I mean for my aim to be true and my target correct.

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - November 24, 2007

Outstanding choice, Enas.

I own a 686 6″ 6-shot that looks exactly like yours (except for barrel length). Even has the full underlug.

It’s got a few thousand rounds through it and has never given me a problem. Hey! Its a S&W…whadda ya expect?

I am a bit biased towards the larger calibers, though. There’s just something about the sound of a full-load .44 Magnum that takes my breath away and makes everything right in the world once again.

2. Enas Yorl - November 24, 2007

There were other people shooting the big calibers and full auto machine guns when I was there McGoo. VERY impressive! My .38’s were firecrackers next to theirs. Still, I’ve fired heavier rounds too but I don’t think I was as accurate with them. For my first gun I wanted something that was solid, reliable, and accurate. I really look forward to trying out the .357 magnum rounds. Later on as I get older and richer I figure I can expand my caliber range.

3. Steamboat McGoo - November 24, 2007

Pay no attention to my idle caliber lust, Enas. I was just babbling about something I dearly love – target shooting.

You are making ALL the correct decisions for ALL the right reasons, IMHO. You’ve chosen a fine weapon – and not a cheap one, either. Now all you have to do is master it to your satisfaction.

I think anyone knowledgeable about self-defense will tell you “A good marksman can defend himself with any caliber. The bigger ones just allow for a bit more slop.”

You should paint a target shooting scene for your art class. Skeet – maybe? Or just a range scene.

4. See-Dubya - November 24, 2007

Good choice.

Take care of it and it’ll be in your family for another few generations, the Good Lord willing and Hillary don’t win.

5. Retired Geezer - November 25, 2007

You are making ALL the correct decisions for ALL the right reasons, IMHO. You’ve chosen a fine weapon – and not a cheap one, either. Now all you have to do is master it to your satisfaction.

Word.
Even if you don’t plan on packing in on your hip or in a crossdraw, you should take the CCW class so you can legally have it concealed while you’re driving in your car.

6. Retired Geezer - November 25, 2007

Go watch one of the IDPA matches out near Red Rock. Right after you make the big turn at the end of West Charleston.
Can’t think of the name of that range… Desert Sportsman?

7. S. Weasel - November 26, 2007

Hey, that’s my bedside table gun! Only, mine’s a snubby (I’d rather have a longer barrel, but I bought it used so…it is what it is). I fire regular .38 ammo through it at the range, because I have a bad tendency to flinch anyway (and I believe my range has a “no magnum” policy. It is a prissy place).

Of course, my guns will all have to go back to the store soon 😦

8. Enas Yorl - November 26, 2007

Wow! Small world Stoaty! So, what other guns do you have? I don’t think you’ve ever listed them all.

9. animal - November 27, 2007

Guess who just brightened up my day? 🙂 Thanks a lot!

10. facts - November 27, 2007

You are so much like me, or i’m like you, well anyway, if we knew each other we’d make a good team, hehe, keep up the good work

11. S. Weasel - November 27, 2007

Oh, the only other decent gun I have is an old S&W revolver. I’ve never quite worked out what it is. It’s a .38, very much like a Model 10 or a five-screw, but it’s got a lanyard ring. Someone told me that might mean it was part of a dress Naval officer’s uniform. Anyhoo, it’s been fired — I know, because I’ve fired it — but it looks brand spanking new.

The rest of my stuff is junk. A Makarov in .40 S&W (I love that thing, because it’s so clunky and Soviet) and a couple of .22 plinkers. Which, truth be told, I have the most fun firing. I flinch, as I said.

I think it’s very strange that three of us on the thread have S&W 686s.

12. Enas Yorl - November 27, 2007

I think it’s very strange that three of us on the thread have S&W 686s.

Yah, that is pretty wild! I wonder what the odd are? Pretty long I’d bet, but then from what I’ve seen in the movies 1 in a million shots work most of the time.

My 72 hour waiting period is almost up! I’m gonna bring my sweet baby home soon!

13. Steamboat McGoo - November 27, 2007

3-day waiting period? Oy!

I bought my 686 used-but-perfect at a gun show in Texas – around ’90-’91 I think. I picked it out, passed it around to the two friends I had with me who are also gun aficionados, it passed muster from all three of us, and I forked over cash to the owner. No muss, no fuss.

Even now, Tx is an instant background state (so’s MO) so you have to wait about 15 minutes. That’s all.

I bought my Sig Sauer .40S&W in Sept and the paperwork/ background check took about 20 minutes or so. I thought it was fairly amusing. I never saw so many anal-retentive document checks in my life.

14. S. Weasel - November 28, 2007

*Nine* days in Rhode Island. Meh.

15. Hk45c - January 15, 2008

10 in Kalifornia

16. Amarantino lopes da cruz - June 17, 2009

quero saber os valores dos revolver,e aforma de pagamentos de voces


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

