jump to navigation

Misty Morning October 16, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Art.
Tags: ,
trackback

I finished this one last night – definitely a keeper.  As always, clicky for larger picture.

Misty Morning

This is my first painting on Clayboard, and it was an interesting experience.  The clay surface is a bit thirstier than paper and sucks the paint out of the brush faster than I expected and I got into real trouble right off the bat with this one because of it.  I started off with the sky and very quickly ran out of the color I mixed for the wash.  I mixed more color but the first wash had already dried a bit and later washes left nasty “seams” where they overlapped.  Fortunately, the clayboard surface is more forgiving than paper and allowed me to use some scrubbing to get those seams out.

This one is 12 x 16 inches.  For the next painting I’m going BIG.

20boats.JPG

Ha!  Here’s the one I did in the Summer ’06 class in black and white.  Practice really does help eh?

Comments

1. bmac - October 16, 2007

Holy moly! Awesome! Did you use a reference, or just start painting?

2. Enas Yorl - October 16, 2007

Yah, it’s from a picture. The instructor has a bunch of them on various cd’s that he pops into a computer and projects it on the screen for the class. He likes to use this one to teach people how to handle gradations of value in painting. I did this one last year in black and white – it didn’t turn out nearly so well last time. I’ll dig around and put that one in here too so people can see the difference.

3. zuuumurs - October 17, 2007

pam param – yaram ?

4. Sobek - October 17, 2007

Very impressive. You’ve learned much, young padawan. Also, i agree with zuuumurs.

5. kevlarchick - October 17, 2007

Enas! that is lovely! Can I have it?

6. Mr Minority - October 17, 2007

Do you use clayboard so it adds texture to the painting?

7. daveintexas - October 17, 2007

dude, that’s awesome.

you got game.

8. mesablue - October 17, 2007

Very nice.

9. eddiebear - October 17, 2007

Well done. It looks to me like an early morning mist.

Is it OK to get all artsy and stuff, because this is good. When I get the opportunity, I go to see the Bierstadts at the STL Art Museum.

10. Michael - October 17, 2007

Ah, the art-fu is strong in you, grasshopper.

11. nicedeb - October 17, 2007

I think they’re both really good. You did a very nice job on the clouds in the black and white picture.

12. BrewFan - October 18, 2007

I concur with nicedeb. Both are nice. I’m very jealous of anybody with artistic talent because I don’t have any! Good job, Enas.

13. Pupster - October 18, 2007

Nice Enas. I can’t see any of the numbers under the paint. That’s hard to do with watercolors.

14. skinbad - October 18, 2007

Misty Morning Hop

Q. What do you, what do you think I saw?
A. A nice picture.

15. Cathy - October 18, 2007

Enas — this is very good. You have a gift — so don’t stop painting.
Thanks for sharing these with us.

16. Enas Yorl - October 18, 2007

Thank you all for the nice complements and the visit! Thanks especially to Kevlarchick for bringing this up over at IB and to Michael for making a post about it.

17. leslie ann - August 10, 2008

ahm………..how wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18. ~KC~ - August 11, 2008

WOW!
Stunning!
You are an arteeeest… for sure!
You need to get into this egg art for sure then!! I’d love to see what you can do with those!

Incredibly talented!

19. Enas Yorl - August 12, 2008

Thanks Leslie and KC! I uncork a nice one every once in a while.

I recently read some warnings about egg shell dust that make it clear that I hadn’t taken proper precautions in dealing with it previously. I’m a lot more receptive to such warnings now than I used to be even just a few years ago. I need to read up some more, but chemical etching might be a safer way to go.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

