jump to navigation

Off To the Races! September 5, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Hello!  I’m off to a little vacation to get a break from the heat around here.  I’m not going far though – just up to the Reno area where I’ll visit nearby Virginia City to watch the 47th Annual International Camel Races!  Virginia City is an interesting place and the site of the famous Comstock Silver Lode.  Maybe I’ll get my parents to take the mine tour this time around.  They chickened out the last time we were there.  We get back sometime Sunday and I’ll have lots of pictures!

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - September 10, 2007

I’ve never seen a camel race. But I’ve seen a bearing race.

2. Enas Yorl - September 10, 2007

Alrighty McGoo I’ll bite – what’s a “bearing race”?

3. Steamboat McGoo - September 12, 2007

It’s the grooved ring of metal surrounding the ball in a ball bearing assembly. The balls “race” around inside it.

Some might say that the race is the groove only.

…and I still see no photos! You’re holding out on us. We’re wetting out pants in anticipatory delight – and you’re teasing with questions about mechanical components. Keep this up and you’ll get no christmas card from me! 🙂

4. Steamboat McGoo - September 12, 2007

Make that “balls in a ball bearing”, not “ball in a …”.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

