jump to navigation

Quick Update July 2, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Juggling, Science & Technology.
trackback

Hallo!  I have BIG PROBLEMS with the home computer so I can’t blog from there and it’s been extra-super busy at work.  The home system seems to have some nasty bug that evaded my anti-virus and has put a strangle-hold on my internet use.  I get kicked off every minute or two and have to unconnect then reconnect to get it back.  Anybody ever have this?  That, and the fact that it takes 30 – 120 minutes for it to start up after a shut down.  BAH!  I’m tempted to go out and get a new system, frankly.  I dunno.

Anyway, I hope to have pictures of the sculpture projects up sometime as well as some other stuff. 

Oh, here’s one thing:  my netflix queue is empty.  Any suggestions?  Good stuff you’ve seen recently, or remember some old gems that everyone should see?  I watched “Sunset Blvd.” for the first time a couple months ago from a recommendation from Stoat Weasel.  Good stuff!

Comments

1. Retired Geezer - July 2, 2007

One of my favorites is Heat with a bunch of stars… DiNero, Val Kilmer.

Deja Vu was pretty good too.

All-time top ten “Long Kiss Goodnight”.
Yeah it’s moonbat crazy but Samuel Jackson and Geena Davis are fricking hilarious.

And Dude… consider a Mac, seriously. Go to the Apple Store in the Fashion Square mall and have someone who understands them explain them to you.
An artsy-fartsy guy like you needs a Mac.

2. Enas Yorl - July 2, 2007

“Deja Vu” I saw recently – it was generally very good, but the ending left me kinda “eh”. “Long Kiss Goodnight” I’ve already seen based on your previous recommendation – that was very good, I enjoyed it.
I’ll look into “Heat”, it sounds familiar. Anything else?

AND, just to make me look like a ‘tard the home computer is behaving itself tonight. I swear there’s a demon possessing my machine, but it’s quiet now. Resting up for more spectacular things perhaps? I dunno.

Macs. Ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss. Even contemplating them feels wrong.

3. Pupster - July 3, 2007

I just saw “Hitch” the other night on TBS, it was much better than I thought it would be, funny-wise.

“Heat” is a good movie, but I thought it a bit long.

“The Usual Suspects”, “Miller’s Crossing”, “Road to Perdition” are some pretty good gangster movies.

If you like cowboy movies, “Open Range” was worth watching.

I’m going to go see “Transformers” tonight…woohoo!

4. S. Weasel - July 3, 2007

Hm. I’m trying to think of classics to follow up Sunset Boulevard. The Thin Man pictures are fun. Boy, did those people DRINK. They’re sloshed through the whole series…

5. geoff - July 4, 2007

We’ve tried to do The Thin Man drinking game, where we drink every time they do, but we’ve never made it past the first 45 minutes.

You might try some Australian movies: we liked The Dish and Danny Deckchair. Both are comedies with a lot of heart.

Don’t forget all the old TV series: they’ve even got Rat Patrol at Netflix now.

6. Retired Geezer - July 5, 2007

When I got my Mac I didn’t know anything about them other than the fact that I was tired of my PC’s locking up, even on Microsoft programs.

Don’t fall for the anti-Mac bias. Just check it out for yourself and you might want to come over to the White side of the Force.

Heat is a kick-ass movie with a ton of good actors.

I liked Amelie as a light comedy but you either need to speak Fwench or like movies with subtitles.

Off the top of my head, movies I own and enjoy in no order: YMMV

Serenity
Inside Man
Italian Job
Princess Bride
Lucky # Sleven
Fargo
Firefly TV series
Boomtown TV series – frickin’ excellent!

7. Retired Geezer - July 8, 2007

I just thought of another one you might like; Pan’s Labyrinth.

8. Enas Yorl - July 8, 2007

Ah, yes – I saw that one recently off a recommendation from a guy at work. It was good – and I didn’t mind the subtitles either.

Firefly – I bought the DVD’s and I have 5 episodes left. I can’t believe that show didn’t last longer 😦 I’ve seen Serenity, but I’ll buy that one after I finish the series.

I’ve seen the others too except for Inside Man, Luck # Sleven, and Boomtown.

Currently I’m watching HBO’s Rome. That’s an excellent show, and I bought the first season. The next season is already out so I’ll pick that one up too.

9. Retired Geezer - July 9, 2007

After you see Boomtown, you will wonder why it was cancelled also.

It’s kind of a Thinking man’s cop drama.

Many interesting characters with stories told Rashoman style.

10. cqkgjytmwg - November 26, 2007

cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg
cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

