jump to navigation

Shoe Finished – New Project June 14, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

I took the day off today to work on The Shoe and also to attend my HOA Board meeting.  With my class at night I can’t do after work hours, and our property management company guy doesn’t do Friday nights.  Thursday afternoon it was. 

I blew yesterday off, and paid for it today.  I really struggled with the final assembly and time was not on my side.  A couple of my original ideas turned out to be totally unworkable and I had to come up with new, workable solutions quickly.  Deadlines can do wonderful things to focus the mind at times.  I was able to finish the thing just before the meeting thankfully.  No pictures of the finished project though – it’s sitting in the classroom for the weekend.  It turned out pretty good.  Not as nice as I hoped, but pretty danged good for a first effort at wire sculpting. 

Our next project, after the plaster carving one, involves doing something with a book.  I don’t know the details, but it involves taking it apart.

