jump to navigation

I’ll Be Darned… April 26, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Politics.
trackback

Today at work I won a luncheon with The Wigness of Maximum Bigness of my organization.  Once a year all the employees attend one of a series of briefings conducted by the tWoMB where she goes over the org’s Big Picture items:  what we’re doing now, where we’re going, critical issues, and whatnot.  We get a similar update in the fall from one of the wearers of the Wigness of Second Bigness.  As we enter the conference room we’re invited to pop our name into a basket to be drawn from at the end of the session for the luncheon.  I wrote my name and number on a slip an tossed it in.  I had an odd feeling as she randomly picked the winning slip.  Sure enough, it was mine.  As I said, she does several of these briefings and a name is picked every time so there will be several of us at this luncheon.  It should be interesting, but I need to take an oath:

I will not discuss politics!

I will not discuss politics!

I will not discuss politics!

Comments

1. kevlarchick - April 27, 2007

The real question is does she WANT you?

2. Pummeled Ennui - April 27, 2007

Just show her your knives. And remember – size matters.

3. mesablue - April 27, 2007

Of course she wants him. And she must be reminded repeatedly throughout the meal.

Pretending that it is Talk Like a Pirate Day will go a long way to impressing her, as well.

4. Elzbth - April 27, 2007

FDo you know what always impresses people and creates the impression that you are even more intelligent than you actually are (if that is possible)? A British accent.

I am thinking Dick VanDyke as Bert in the Mary Poppins movie.

5. Enas Yorl - April 27, 2007

You people took this in a strange direction. No she doesn’t WANT me. Nobody does. She’s a married woman in her 60’s for crying out loud!

No, my main concern for this thing is that the general conversation will inevitably turn to politics, local and national, due to it’s considerable influence in the affairs of the organization as a whole. Her Wigness Bigness is a hard-core liberal as are many people at all levels in the organization. I don’t want to get into a situation where I’m the only conservative debating a table full of liberals about politics. So there’s that.

6. Wickedpinto - April 27, 2007

She’s a married woman in her 60’s for crying out loud!

she rich? if so? I’d so hit that. I’d go all zoidberg on her ass while at it.

7. Enas Yorl - April 27, 2007

Well, Mr. Pinto it depends on what you mean by “rich”. I don’t know what her salary is, but I’d be surprised if it was less than 500k per year and wouldn’t be surprised if it ran up to a million or so.

As for you trying to “hit that” she probably just kick your ass.

8. S. Weasel - April 28, 2007

Hahaha…perfect, Elzbth! Officially the worst fake Cockney accent in the history of bad Yankee Cockney accent imitators (Howie Carr’s is a close second).

Enas, I love the way your comments in a thread are capped in lime green with an off-white background. It’s like, “for, lo! I *rule* this place with my limegreenness!”

9. Enas Yorl - April 28, 2007

I am the Limey King! I can do anything!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

