jump to navigation

Cool Art Thingy April 10, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Art.
trackback

Y’all didn’t like my Voxler link eh?  Fine.  Not everyone’s bag o’ tea, I understand. However you must check this out.  I don’t want to give it away so just go and watch.  It was sent to my to my too infrequently checked email account by the thoughtful Pupster

Go and watch then read stuff below if you’re interested.

Cool huh?  I have a “How to Draw Figures” book I bought in 8 or 9th grade.  One of the ways it suggests going about figure drawing is actually starting with the basic skeletal structure and composing the flesh then clothing on top.  That animation took it to a pretty deep level.  I used to play around a little with the skeletor approach, except I left the flesh on – just very, very thin.  Yeah, they looked like African famine victims.  Fashion models would have been jealous of my gals.

I liked the overall style of the flash-drawing once it was finished.  I’ve never been very good at that kind of fast drawing style.  My stuff just usually looks messy and sketchy.  I wonder if he was drawing from a model or picture.  Occasionally I get the urge to take pad and pencil out to the Fashion Show Mall and sketch the models that do the hourly fashion shows they have down there.  That urge is always quietly taken out and strangled by my laziness.

Comments

1. Elzbth - April 11, 2007

Well, ya know, if you go down there and just begin drawing, you may be able to sketch down some of their phone numbers.

2. Enas Yorl - April 11, 2007

Ah, but “Beauty & the Beast” only happens in sitcoms and Disney movies. I’d probably get the bum’s rush by security and later some restraining orders. Any drawings would be confiscated & entered as evidence of “stalking”.

3. S. Weasel - April 12, 2007

I ran across that flash some time ago. I wonder if he really did draw it that fast. Even if he was using a keystroke recording program, he could pause, restart and alter the pace. It was cool though.

I was never a good quick sketcher. I could usually get where I wanted to go, but getting there was messy. Drawing is definitely one of those things that improves with practice (and atrophies without).

4. geoff - April 12, 2007

I mistook “Inside Out” (the text that pops up when you hover over the link) for “Outside In,” which is the classic sphere-inversion video put out by the University of Minnesota. If you’ve ever wanted to know how to turn a sphere inside out while following the rules of topology, I highly recommend it. It’s very watchable.

5. Enas Yorl - April 12, 2007

Drawing is definitely one of those things that improves with practice (and atrophies without).

Word brother. True dat.

Geoff, interesting link. I was fascinated by topological stuff as a kid: Moebius strips, Klein bottles & stuff. Alas, I was not nearly good enough with math to pursue studies in those directions.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

