jump to navigation

Dinner – It’s What’s for Lunch February 5, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Strange & Unusual.
trackback

So I was eating lunch at work today, starting off with a bowl of soup and a small container of cottage cheese.  My main meal was going to be some left-over chicken and vegtable stir-fry I made for dinner over the weekend.  I was looking forward to it because it was one of the better batches I’ve made (I have a tendency to overcook).  So I haul out my plastic container and take off the cover prior to popping it into the microwave.   Hmm.  Something’s odd.  Are those onions – blue?  The lights are off in the break room but there are windows.  Maybe it just looks funny with the lights off.  I turn them on.  I look again.  Blue.  I used red onion (which is technically purplish) in my recipe but they turned blue since last I looked.  Medium to light indigo I’d have to say.  I’ve made this dish many times and had left-overs many times.  Nothing’s ever turned…blue before.  I venture a sniff.  It smells okay-ish I suppose.  Still.  I don’t want to eat anything where any part of the dish has turned blue.  If it’s not intrinsically blue, or artificially colored blue, then don’t eat it, I always say.  Well, I’ve never said it before, but I’ll say it now.

 Yes, yes – I know that SamIAm taught us an important lesson about not being Racist! in regards to the color of our food, but still.  I will not eat blue onion and chicken stir fry SamIAm!

Comments

1. kevlarchick - February 8, 2007

Eat em. You really can’t hurt onions. They just like to blend in a stir fry. They are chameleons.

2. Enas Yorl - February 8, 2007

Yeah, well it’s a pretty suck-ass chameleon who turns a color completely unlike everything else. No, it was the canary in the mine -a warning that Something Was Wrong. I didn’t eat it.

Frankly, it’s never been a good “leftover” dish anyway. Nuking it just makes the chicken rubbery and the veggies more limp and flavorless. I should start making this in half-batches. It would be easier to cook, certainly.

3. boo! - December 21, 2007

Onions are starchy, and iodine turns starches blue. Maybe you have a batch of freakishly iodized salt?

4. Steamboat McGoo - December 22, 2007

Go ahead and eat ’em. I want to see what happens.

5. Enas Yorl - December 22, 2007

That would be a tough trick McGoo since I tossed this out about 10 months ago. Hmm. Yannowhat? I don’t think I’ve made this dish since then. Boo! the ancient thread haunter makes an interesting observation. Dunno if it’s true or not, but it can be tested I suppose. The next time I cut into a red onion I’ll salt some up and stick it in the fridge and then I’ll see what happens.

6. Steamboat McGoo - December 22, 2007

Yeah. Let me know what happens because I collect strange knowledge.

A factoid to the effect that iodized salt will turn onion blue would be precccioooussssss.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

