jump to navigation

A Nasty Surprise February 2, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Science & Technology.
trackback

Tonight I decided to install the other two digital imaging programs that came bundled with my cool Wacom tablet.  I’ve been playing around with the Photoshop Essentials a bit and I wanted to see what others had to offer.  I went to load the first one and in the process I encountered something I’ve not seen in a long time.  A notification that I do not have enough space on my hard drive to load it! 

I was stunned.  In this day and age of huge, gianourmous hard drives and such, it’s a bit disconcerting that I’ve managed to even come close to filling it up.  I closed out of the install and checked my capacity.

Hmph.  I’ll be damned – my 75.5 Gig drive is 3/4 full!  This is a nice, higher-end laptop I bought late summer in 2005, but it isn’t up to a lot of the latest system expectations and requirements.  Hell, my iPod has a larger capacity than my main computer!

Oh, well.  I can delete a couple high (for me) end games that barely run on this system and see if that helps.

Comments

1. S. Weasel - February 3, 2007

I got a new 100 gigger for Christmas this year. When I installed it in my laptop, Bill Gates told me I had loaded my copy of Windows too many times and I had to give him another wad of money. Pff! Right!

So I put the old one back in and use the 100 as an external drive. The external cases for laptop drives are SO SLICK. They’re tiny — not much bigger than a playing card and half an inch thick. Easily fit in a shirt pocket. And they run ENTIRELY off USB — no external power supply to lug around. Standard USB cable. Plus, the computer doesn’t see it as a USB drive — it just quietly mounts it as another hard drive.

Very nice.

2. Retired Geezer - February 3, 2007

All my experience with Windows has taught me this:
Every time you get a bigger/faster system… more RAM… better graphics card… You are Always going to be needing more. It is always just marginal.

One of the reasons I bought a Mac was that my friend ran her whole Graphic Oriented business on her OLD Mac. That sucker was 6 years old and still did everything she needed. She did grocery ads for newspapers, you know with the pictures of bananas and soup cans.

It would be like trying to do Photoshop Elements on a PC running Windows 3.1, Not gonna happen.

My iMac is now 6 years old and does everything I need. Sure my 30 gig HD is almost full and it slows things down because of the limited size of the swap files but I tend to run it on the edge anyway. I usually have my mail, Firefox (with 6 windows), iTunes, iPhoto, Widgets, Word and a game or two.
I can’t remember the last time it crashed. If a program locks up, you just Force Quit that program and all the rest are still running.
You don’t need to uninstall programs you don’t want anymore, just drag them to the trash. No spider fingers to worry about.

Ooops, got carried away there.
/rant

3. Retired Geezer - February 3, 2007

All my experience with Windows has taught me this:
Every time you get a bigger/faster system… more RAM… better graphics card… You are Always going to be needing more. It is always just marginal.

One of the reasons I bought a Mac was that my friend ran her whole Graphic Oriented business on her OLD Mac. That sucker was 6 years old and still did everything she needed. She did grocery ads for newspapers, you know with the pictures of bananas and soup cans.

It would be like trying to do Photoshop Elements on a PC running Windows 3.1, Not gonna happen.

My iMac is now 6 years old and does everything I need. Sure my 30 gig HD is almost full and it slows things down because of the limited size of the swap files but I tend to run it on the edge anyway. I usually have my mail, Firefox (with 6 windows), iTunes, iPhoto, Widgets, Word and a game or two.
I can’t remember the last time it crashed. If a program locks up, you just Force Quit that program and all the rest are still running.
You don’t need to uninstall programs you don’t want anymore, just drag them to the trash. No spider fingers to worry about.

Ooops, got carried away there.
/rant

4. Enas Yorl - February 3, 2007

A rant so nice you had to post it twice? ;-D

I’m sure Steve Jobs appreciates the customer testimonial, but I’m a Windoze guy and always will be I suppose.

External hard drive eh? Excellent suggestion Mr. Weasel! I’ll look into it.

5. Retired Geezer - February 3, 2007

Sorry Enas, it’s this stupid Mac it’s a problem with my DSL.
😉
But seriously, check out this email where a Microsoft exec tells Bill Gates that “I would buy a Mac today if I didn’t work at Microsoft”.
http://tinyurl.com/3bdvly

6. Retired Geezer - February 3, 2007

Huh?
I just posted a comment and it disappeared.
I don’t think you have them moderated, do you?

http://tinyurl.com/3bdvly

7. Retired Geezer - February 3, 2007

I guess it was because i had a link.

This is a test:

tinyurl.com/3bdvly

8. S. Weasel - February 5, 2007

I just got an email from Apple along the lines of, “if you have to buy a whole new machine to run Vista, why not buy a Mac instead?” Clever. I hope they pick up some business over this, flaming Gates-hater that I am.

That said, you Mac people are too much like some nutty religious cult for me. Being in the graphics field, I work with a lot of Mac folks (and probably narrowly escaped being one). I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve seen someone stand in front of a non-functioning Mac lecturing me about how they never break.

“That one’s broken right now!”

“Oh, no. I just loaded a bad driver.”


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

