jump to navigation

A New Toy? January 19, 2007

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Science & Technology.
trackback

Christmas isn’t over for me yet.  My Parental Units gave me $500 to spend on whatever I want this year.  I have been thinking about a new radio for my car that’s made to integrate with the iPod.  I looked at a nice Alpine one that has many of the whiz-bang features available today along with the iPod stuff that runs about $270 installed.  The store was out of that particular model when I was there, or I’d already have it.  I also want a Wii.  Between the two that would run a bit over $500 but I can easily afford the difference.  Now, however I’ve found out how S. Weasel makes those cool weasel graphics he does.  On the computer with a tablet!  Through sheer tsunami force of (his) huge, throbbing artistic hoodoo, marginally assisted with a computer and tablet.  I am SERIOUSLY considering this one.  At 6″ x 11″ it’s a large enough surface to have some freedom with but it’s not too big and take up too much space for its functionality.  There are loads of features there too, as well as a stripped down version of Photoshop.  I guess I’ll be needing that to do my picture of me having, uhhh, relations with Helen Thomas after I lose this contest I’m in. 

SHUDDER.

Since I haven’t had a gaming console since the Atari 2600 I guess the Wii can wait a few months until my birthday.

Comments

1. kevlarchick - January 21, 2007

Get a wii. It’ll help you lose weight. And I will bury you in boxing.

2. Enas Yorl - January 21, 2007

Sorry KC. I bought the tablet. Actually I ordered it since I can’t find the larger sized tablets in the stores. I can’t buy the Wii right now anyway – you can’t find them in the stores either. My birthday is in April, soon enough for someone who has waited 27 years between systems! ;-D.

3. S. Weasel - January 22, 2007

A slight correction: I make those cool weasel graphics through the sheer tsunami force of my huge, throbbing artistic hoodoo. The tablet just comes along so it can tell all its friends, “yes. Yes, I was there when Weasel worked that weasel magic.”

Enjoy your toy. I never loaded the stripped down Photoshop, as P’shop is a seat license, so I can legally load my work copy at home, too. If the abbreviated one does layers, you’re all set — isolating graphic elements on separate layers is a boffo way to try different effects without messing up anything. It’s a much better paint program than it gets credit for — if you have a tablet.

4. Enas Yorl - January 22, 2007

S. Weasel, correction duly noted.

Yeah, I’m interested to find out what I can do with its version of Photoshop too. I’ve used a full version in the past, so I have some idea of it’s general capabilities. It’s been more than a few years though, so I imagine there have been LOTS of improvments. From the description on Adobe’s website it looks like the “Elements” version does have support for layers and a lot of the things I remember. The full version has oodles more stuff of course, but I’m not prepared to pop another $650 at this time.

5. Elzbth - January 22, 2007

You have to post a what? Oh, dude…

6. geoff - January 23, 2007

You have to post a what? Oh, dude…

Oh yes. We’re hardcore. As it were.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

