jump to navigation

I Am Worthy December 5, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Politics.
trackback

I’m now a member of the Board of Directors for my HOA and we had our first meeting with me on the this side of the table.  Sigh.  We have lots of issues and short money to deal with them.  One of the biggest problems that faces us is the fact that the vast majority of the people who live here have little or no understanding that there are any problems at all.  The other part is that those who ARE doing the damage understand that there is a Significant Section who are unwilling to be aware that anything is wrong.

Comments

1. geoff - December 5, 2006

You’re a braver man than I. Good luck.

2. Mr Minority - December 5, 2006

I couldn’t do it. Dealing with egos and power trippers would drive me insane. What ever you do, beware of the Dark Side and don’t be temped.

3. Enas Yorl - December 5, 2006

Actually, there’s only five of us and one guy is serving in Iraq. The rest of the members are very reasonable and aren’t really concerned about power trips & such. They’re just people who want to keep the community up and running.

4. Dave in Texas - December 5, 2006

I swear to God, first home I ever bought, the first weekend in December some bitch showed up on my doorstep with a clipboard and a lighting plan.

My role was blue and green. Blue and green lights.

I uttered something to her I have never said before or since.

5. Mr Minority - December 6, 2006

Enas,
You are lucky, the last neighborhood I lived in Austin had a HOA, and these people were yuppies on power trips. We used to have Lawn Nazis drive around with a ruler looking for lawns whose grass blades were above the 6″ rule, and if it was you would get a letter tell you to cut it. And if you didn’t they would do it for you and charge for it. That is why I live out in the country, I don’t have a lawn, just native grass that I let grow long and I tell everyone that I have xeriscaping.

6. Enas Yorl - December 6, 2006

Dave, are you saying you didn’t follow the lighting plan? DUDE! Note to self: D in T is not a team player.

Mr. M, yeah I’ve heard some of the horror stories about HOAs around here too. Mostly in the more expensive ones though. We do have an inspector that goes around and we send out notices for excessive weeds & damaged things that need to be fixed though.

7. kevlarchick - December 6, 2006

Now Enas, don’t be thinking you’re all that.

8. Enas Yorl - December 6, 2006

What? You saying I’m not worthy?? Hmph.
*Enas checks a day off the calendar with the RED pen*


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

