jump to navigation

Product Endorsement October 28, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Science Fiction & Fantasy.
trackback

Were you ever a fan of Mystery Science Theater 3000?  I was back in the early 90’s – I hardly ever missed an episode.  Then I got a job which put a serious ding in my tv watching time and I only caught it every now-and-again.  Anyway – the premise of the show (broadly speaking) was three guys watching old, bad movies and making fun of them.  Comedian Joel Hodgson was the creator and major on-screen talent, but he soon left the show and the Head Writer Mike Nelson stepped in to replace him.  MST3K is long gone of course, but I always wondered how they would do with some of the modern-day big budget movies.  Well, Mike Nelson has moved the enterprise online in the form of RiffTrax

There’s only a few selections so far to choose from, but I downloaded the one for The Matrix Friday night and watched and listened to it yesterday.  WOW!  Really funny stuff.  I re-enjoyed this movie on a whole new level, and it was well worth the three bucks.  It was also easy to purchase, download and throw on to the iPod. 

The next one I think I’m going to get is Top Gun.  Amazingly, I’ve negotiated the 20 years since its release to now without ever actually watching the film.  It seems fitting that I should watch one of Tom Cruise’s career-defining movies in the twilight of that career whilst it’s being savagely mocked and made fun of.

Comments

1. Retired Geezer - October 28, 2006

Talk to me Goose.

2. geoff - October 29, 2006

Might have to give that a shot. I moved all my iPod files off my hard drive onto an external drive, and now iTunes can’t find them. So once I get all that sorted out, I might give this RiffTrax thing a shot. My wife and I sure did love MSTK3000 – we had about 10 of their VHS tapes, but I donated them to the library in a recent VHS purge.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

