jump to navigation

Battlestar Galactica Mormonism September 27, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Science Fiction & Fantasy.
trackback

I was talking to one of my co-workers today and the subject of TV came up.  I remarked that I seldom watch broadcast TV anymore but that I do watch TV shows on DVD.  I mentioned HBO’s Six Feet Under and of course the new Battlestar Galactica series season 2.5.  He said that his father was a fan of the show and had told him that the much of the basic story structure was actually based on Mormon theology.  He googled BG + Mormon and got back a bunch of hits immediately.  I scanned through a couple this evening and, yeah  – it’s almost certainly true.  One of those “Huh – well waddayaknow?” moments.

Comments

1. pupster - September 28, 2006

My mother made the same comment about BG following LDS story lines when we watched the original series. Being the punk rebellious kid I was at the time, it pretty much made me stop watching the show.

2. Enas Yorl - September 28, 2006

I was a big fan of the original series – one of my most favorite Christmas presents was a toy Viper ship. It was sort of annoying though because it launched a “torpedo” from the front nozzle of the toy but I knew the guns were nestled near the canopy.

3. Michael - October 1, 2006

Huh. I did not know that either.

4. Elzbth - October 1, 2006

Michael should not feel slighted. Desperate Housewives is Episcopalian.

5. Dusk2Dawn - October 5, 2006

Does anyone know the theme song advertised in the Battlestar commerical? I think its called “Say it for me”

6. Enas Yorl - October 6, 2006

Sorry D2D, I have no idea.

7. “One of those “Huh - well waddayaknow?” moments” « Think Tankers - October 16, 2006

[…] Over at Enas Yorl’s. Sci-fi + Mormonism = Battlestar Galactica?  I googled it up too; it’s no felgerkarb. […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

