jump to navigation

Autumn Tactics September 15, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Deep river runs it’s course
To a warm horizon
Shadows of falling leaves
October moon and rusty skies
Ever changing feelings
The seeds of autumn in my mind
Hiding sun, like the hiding sun
Feels like its just begun
Hiding sun, like the hiding sun
Waiting for summer sun
Hiding summer’s age no more
No more leaves in summer sky
Turning dark on empty carlots
When summer was my only friend
Sail back this way again
Winter’s one breath away
Sail back this way again
Winter’s one breath away
It’s turning cold…
Hiding sun, like the hiding sun
Feels like its just begun….

These are the lyrics to the song “Autumn Tactics” by Chicane.  Lovely song, and the gal who sings it has a wonderful voice. I don’t know the “official” date of when fall begins, but today was the first day I said “Summer’s done – the Great Baking is over.”  Oh, sure it still gets up to the mid-90’s around here as our high, but this morning when I left for work was the first time I smelled The Smell here in the Las Vegas valley.  The change from summer to fall here is accompanied by a distinct change in the odor of the air in the morning.  Summer always smells like hot dust, fall is like – well, I don’t know quite how to describe it – NOT hot dust I suppose.  I’m not the only one who thinks like this.  One of the gals at work remarked last week that she’s looking forward to the fall season, but that summer isn’t over because she hasn’t smelled The Smell yet.  “You know what I’m talking about, right?” she asked.  I told her that I certainly did.

Comments

1. Michael - September 16, 2006

Mrs. Michael and I were talking just the other day about how the odor of the air changes unmistakeably as fall approaches, even though the leaves aren’t going to start changing color for a few more weeks.

2. Enas Yorl - September 16, 2006

I have my windows open this morning!! WHOOT!!

3. kevlarchick - September 16, 2006

Paint a picture of that song, Enas.

4. ELO - September 18, 2006

riding on a wave chicane


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

