jump to navigation

Lifestyle Changes – Shrinking the Anomaly August 1, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Shrinking.
trackback

Hello!

Yes, sorry about the non-posting again.  Truth be told I’ve been in a rather prolonged Funk and unmotivated to do much of anything.  I am implementing Changes to finally counter the Funk and re-motivate my life.  Simply speaking – I MUST lose weight.  I’ve struggled with this issue almost all my life and sometime in the last year laid in a course to Comic Book Guy stature and have headed there at warp speed.  No, I’m not there yet, but I’m well along the way.  Major course corrections are in order and so this week I’ve started the long, slow turn around.

How Far Is the Journey to Cobol? 149 light years.  Sorry, no – 146 pounds to my ideal weight.  Yeeahup – it’s a ways to go, but I’ll never get there if I don’t get started.

The Plan  Well, diet and exercise of course.  For exercise I’ve started walking and (trying) calisthenics.  Yesterday morning I put 2 miles on the treadmill at the gym and 2.5 on the elliptical tonight.  As for the diet – common sense stuff, for the most part:  cut out the bad fats & sugary stuff, more veggies, smaller portions, etc.  Weight loss isn’t rocket science: calories in < calories out = smaller me. 

Well, time for bed – I get up now at 4:30am to get my workout in before I head to the office.

Comments

1. kevlarchick - August 2, 2006

Sweat hard, sweet Enas. You know you’ll feel better once you work out regularly. That will get your brilliant chemicals churning.

2. Retired Geezer - August 2, 2006

You didn’t look fat in the photo you sent wearing the blogidaho.com cap.

My recommendations:
Don’t try too much, too soon. IAW don’t immediately start walking 5 miles per day.

Subway veggie delite sammiches. No kidding dude, juse eat one of those for lunch for a month and you will be amazed when the pounds start to melt off.

Ixnay on the Candy

I’m happy that you have reached that point in your life that you seriously want to take control.
It says something that you are willing to share it with us.

3. Michael - August 2, 2006

Good on ya, Enas. We’re cheering you on.

4. daveintexas - August 2, 2006

Enas, email me.

I have moron words of success and encouragement.

dave

5. Enas Yorl - August 2, 2006

Hey, thanks y’all! I appreciate the kind sentiments. This morning the alarm went off at 4:30 sharp – I ignored siren song of the bed and put in another 2 miles or so. Weekly weigh-ins are Saturday mornings after I get up. I’ll make sure to post it.

6. Dex - August 3, 2006

you can do it, man. I mean, you ARE named after a shape-shifter.

I found calorie-count.com to be helpful. lotsa free tools and nutrition info on almost every kind of food out there.

7. Enas Yorl - August 3, 2006

Why yes – the original Enas Yorl was a shape-shifter! Of course, he was cursed to change his shape on a continual basis for the rest of his existence though. Hmm – prob’ly best not to dwell too much on that bit. Thanks for the tip on the site, Dex – I’ll check it out.

8. Elzbth - August 3, 2006

You are getting up at 4:30 to walk? I am deeply impressed. Good for you!

9. geoff - August 4, 2006

Go for it, Enas.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

