jump to navigation

Hot Dogs! July 1, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Science & Technology.
trackback

I’m going to have hot dogs for the 4th!  I rarely eat hot dogs, but I always love them when I do.  I was at the store yesterday and took a look at the selection.  Gracious! So many brands & varieties – I never know what to choose.  What’s the difference between a weiner and a frank?  What’s the best brand?  I bought a pack of “Ball Park” beef hotdogs.  I got really hungry so I went ahead and boiled up a couple in some beer (Fat Tire ale).  They were tasty, but a little soft.  I like a firmer textured hotdog.  Any suggestions?  Also, what do y’all like to put on a dog?  I’m a traditionalist – mayo, mustard, ketchup & pickle relish.  I’ll add chopped onions too, If I have an onion handy.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

**UPDATE**  Hebrew National brand of beef franks are very, very good.  Nice flavor, and a good, firm texture – you know you’re biting into something meaty.  These are better than the Ball Park ones.

Comments

1. Michael - July 1, 2006

Dark mustard and pickle relish. Anything else is a sacrilege.

Well, unless you’re going for a chili dog, in which case cheese is permissible, but that’s really a different subject.

2. Enas Yorl - July 1, 2006

Nope. Don’t do chili dogs.
1. They are too messy and
B. The chili totally overwhelms the flavor of the hotdog.

The hotdog just becomes a condiment for the chili, really.

3. Muslihoon - July 2, 2006

If it’s meat, I’ll eat it.

Chilidogs are good too, as are corndogs. All dogs are great!

4. Muslihoon - July 2, 2006

Um, and my last statement wasn’t meant in a Korean way, if you know what I’m saying and I know you do.

Suzanne Whang as Sung Hee Park: “How do you know a Korean broke into your home? Your homework is done and your dog is missing.”

5. blogidaho - July 4, 2006

I’m thinking you need to use Fire instead of boiling those hot dogs.

6. Enas Yorl - July 4, 2006

Yeah, I do have a grill but it’s way too much bother for a couple of hot dogs for just me. Plus, how else are you gonna get the beer flavor?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

