jump to navigation

Your Mission, Should You Choose to Accept It… June 23, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

mission2.JPG

Is to paint a mission!  Twice.  Here's the first one – a small (7.5" x 10") quick sketch to get a feel for the subject and see all the details & whatnot.  Not entirely horrible.  The picture we were drawing from was muddy and indistinct in some areas – you had to look very carefully to figure out what was going on.

Here's the next one.  It's four times the size of the small one (15" x 20").

dsc03778.JPG

Well, I'm making progress I think.

Comments

1. Muslihoon - June 23, 2006

Wow. The second one is very nice.

What are you going to do with these paintings? Frame and hang them?

2. digitalbrownshirt - June 23, 2006

That’s pretty close to having church in school, better call the ACLU.

3. Enas Yorl - June 23, 2006

Muslihoon, I consider all of these things so far to be student stuff. I’ll probably just wind up giving most of it away.

DBS, un-holy cow! You’re right! I actually painted a building with a cross in a school! I’d better dunk this painting in a bucket of urine to unreligiosify it and to atone for my vile defilement of a public institution!

4. elzbth - June 24, 2006

Unreligiosify?

5. Mrs. Geezer - June 26, 2006

This is my favorite. I like the top one best probably because of the colors.Very restful to the eyes at least my eyes. Never learned the trick with the stretching of the watercolor paper. Too Cool. Makes me want to take another class again. Keep going, you’re doing great!!

6. Enas Yorl - June 26, 2006

Thanks Mrs. Geezer! The first one has some things over the second one – the building is more sun-drenched and I got some darker masses of green & brown to highlight the contrast.

The paper stretching is proving to be more difficult than expected. I did some more on my own over the weekend and more than half failed. I had big problems getting my glue-paper to stick to the paper and the boards.

7. Dave in Texas - July 3, 2006

I want to commission a private work while I can still afford you.

Actually I have no idea if I can afford you.

Ever done a 67 Camaro?

8. Enas Yorl - July 3, 2006

Actually, I’ve never done cars, they weren’t really my bag. Still, I can’t imagine it would be too hard. Do you have a specific picture in mind or just a general composition around that model? If you have a specific picture e-mail it to me at enasyorl2000@yahoo.com or just post it over at your place and we can discuss it further.

As for the cost – don’t worry about it. I’m still a student and I don’t expect I’ll keep any of these pictures I’m making now – I generally just give this kind of stuff away.

9. Dave in Texas - July 4, 2006

Just kidding, I like your second mission pic though, particularly the fountain and the rocks.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

