jump to navigation

I Am Not Dead June 19, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Busy at work learning new Database-Fu, busy at class.  Lots of new watercolors soon – tomorrow, I promise!  I’m learning lots of new stuff, and my drawing skills are getting better.

iPod update: I’ve bought two songs so far from iTunes, What’s Up by 4 Non Blondes and Sugar Sugar by The Archies.  Yes, make fun of me if you must but I was delighted to get them (99¢)!    I love one hit wonders, don’t you?  I think I’m going to get Lunatic Fringe by Red Rider next.  If you have any great one-offs for suggestion leave them in the comments.  Thanks!

That’s it for now, I’ll be back soon with cool stuff.

Comments

1. kevlarchick - June 20, 2006

Do you remember The Fixx? I used to dig them–they had about two cool songs.

2. elzbth - June 21, 2006

Bubblegum pop which is actually named for the main ingredient of bubblegum! So now I have the words “Awwwww honey. . .awwwww sugar sugar. . .you are my candy girl. . .something something something” running through my mind, over and over again.

Thanks a lot.

3. Enas Yorl - June 22, 2006

“And you’ve got me wanting you” finishes out your stanza Elzbth. The song is catchy as hell, and I crank it up and sing along every time I hear it on the radio (far too infrequently). Now I’ve got it for my very own. 🙂

KC – I recognized the name, but couldn’t place the songs. “Saved By Zero” was the big one from them.

I just bought “What I Am” by Edie Brickell & New Bohemians. It came out in 1988 and I remember seeing her & the band doing this song on “Saturday Night Live”. Edie was really cute. I can’t believe she married Paul Simon. Are they still together?

4. blogidaho - June 24, 2006

I love one hit wonders, don’t you?
Yeah, or as I like to call them, “One of the Great Disappearing Acts of All Time”.
Might be too old for these:
Blues Magoos
Norman Greenbaum
Alive and Kicking
Strawberry Alarm Clock

I guarantee you’ve heard Alive and Kicking’s hit. It’s a Classic.

KC, Yep even Geezers like Fixx and you’re right, only about 3 cool songs.
Less Cities More Moving People
One Thing Leads to Another (recently used in a commercial)

5. Enas Yorl - June 24, 2006

Dunno Blues Magoos. Greenbaum did “Spirit In the Sky” of course. “Alive and Kicking” – isn’t that a song by Simple Minds? Strawberry Alarm Clock did “Incense and Peppermints” – a signature song of the late ’60s if there ever was one. Funny, I did a quick google search on them and found out that the guy that sang that song wasn’t even a member of the band, just someone that liked to hang out with them! 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

