jump to navigation

Another Enas Original June 6, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

I've been using a part of this drawing as my iconic image from time to time, now here's the whole thing.

Psychological Self Portrait

Sorry for the general muddiness, this was a quick digi-pic I took in my office.  You get the idea though.  I think I drew this in the early 90's.  This took a long time to draw, certainly over the course of several months, if not an entire year.  Not because of the detail, but because I had no idea what I was doing.  At various points I would stop and put it away for weeks at a time.  Then when I was feeling particularly bold I would pull it out again and work on another section. 

With the exception of the geodesic dome in the background none of the imagery in this piece was consciously selected by me.  I just started to lay down lines that started to suggest things.  I followed the suggestions.  Hazy detail begat finer detail, etc.  Indeed, the whole thing didn't even start with the central figure – it started with the circle in the right hand of the figure just to the right of the big, drippy-eyed head. A circle and a few lines and what? An arm? Maybe. Why not? Okay, attached to shoulder, yes? Yes, then neck and head.  That's a neck and head? Yes. Uhh, really? Yes. Next arm and move down the body. Foot. Somewhere around here I decide that thinking only gets in the way.  The hand moves and the pencil scribes.  All of this is done in light pencil, easily enhanced and permenantly bonded with the paper fibers or folded into the warm embrace of a kneaded rubber eraser, with little trace of ever existing.

When it was finally finished it was with a sense of relief, rather than satisfaction.  Still, what exactly was this thing?  I'd been staring at it for ages, and none the wiser at the end than I was at the beginning.  At a loss I called it "Not to Touch the Earth" – the same title as an obscure Doors song, and popped into a conveniently sized frame I had lying around.  It wasn't until a year or two later that I realized what this thing actually was, and when I did it shocked me to the core.

It's late – I'll wrap this up sometime tomorrow.

Oh! Watercolor class update – it went well.  Basic skills demonstration and practice.  No communism.  It's been a long time since I've seriously worked with watercolors – maddening.  But hey, if it were easy everyone would be doing it.  Overall I was pleased though.  I think I'm going to learn A LOT here.

Comments

1. geoff - June 7, 2006

That is very cool: both the painting and the subconsicously guided way you made it. When I let my subconscious guide my drawing, I make rows of lines. Pretty much the same result when I let my conscious guide me. Nice to see the work of someone with talent and a freedom of inner expression.

2. kevlarchick - June 7, 2006

So when does the artist know when something is “done?”

3. elzbth - June 7, 2006

Fantastic drawing, interesting story. I enjoy your art work.
(I have trouble with stick figures, so it is a non-professional enjoyment).

4. Enas Yorl - June 7, 2006

Thanks guys! I appreciate the comments. Kevlarchick, it all depends on the piece. If you start out with a fairly specific goal in mind, obviously it’s done when all objectives are met. An open-ended piece like this one it’s easy to go too far, which I did I think. It’s a judgement call.

5. geoff - June 7, 2006

How large is the entire drawing?

6. Enas Yorl - June 8, 2006

Not big – 11 x 14 inches.

7. chris muir - June 8, 2006

Nice. Daliesque, but with its own Surrealistic feel.

8. digitalbrownshirt - June 8, 2006

The lower right side reminds me of Ed “Big Daddy” Roth.

9. Muslihoon - June 8, 2006

It wasn’t until a year or two later that I realized what this thing actually was, and when I did it shocked me to the core.

Now, when you say you discovered what it was, what was it? A self-portrait that you unwittingly made?

Sorry. I can be unbelievably dense sometimes.

10. Enas Yorl - June 8, 2006

Holy cow! Chris Muir graces my blog with his presence again! Thanks!

DBS, yeah – I think I know the work of the fellow you’re referencing. That was a weird critter that just crawled out of the texture.

Muslihoon, yes exactly! All of the subconciously derived imagery (not just the central figure) related to me in a very personal manner. It took a while to see it, but when I did I was shocked to see how revealing it was. Of course, only I know how the images relate to me and I know that the symbology is opaque to any other viewer, but still it was a bit disconcerting. So now the real title of the piece is “A Psychological Self-Portrait”.

11. Muslihoon - June 9, 2006

Enas, I am simply amazed. In my mind, this is like a miracle. It’s so uncanny. I wish I could draw.

You’re really good. Have you considered making artwork and selling it?

12. daveintexas - June 10, 2006

I would have called it “mushy broccoli”.

But then I draw stick figures and I am a moron.

Actually it reminded me a lot of the cover art on North Texas State University’s One O Clock Lab band albums from the 70s. craaaaaaazy stuff – good jazz.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

