jump to navigation

At the Movies, Concluded. June 2, 2006

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Okay, we're into the third half of the stack, so let's finish these off!

Shrek – The funniest movie that I'd seen in a long, long time.  Superb casting.

Planet of the Apes – The Tim Burton remake, of course.  It didn't do as well as expected at the box office as I recall.  It was totally set up for a sequel, but since we don't have one as yet, I guess we're not likely to get one.  I enjoyed it, but haven't seen it since.

Final Fantasy – AH!  This was the first pure CGI animated action/sci-fi movie to hit the bigtime in terms of nationwide release (at least as far as I can recall).  I really liked it as it was gorgeous to look at and interesting.  Bought the DVD.  I haven't seen it in a while – I wonder how well it holds up to current CGI standards?

Tomb Raider – The first one of course.  I enjoyed it of course.  I've never played any of the Tomb Raider games though.

Evolution – This was just a fun, fun movie.  David Duchovny(sp?) makes fun of his Mulder character.

Mummy Returns – I liked this one pretty well too, although I can't remember too much of it.  Too much mummy dust I guess.

Hannibal – It was good followup to Silence of the Lambs.

Dracula 2000 – Hmm, it seems that I saw this one on 1/1/01.  Good grief, that's over five years ago now!  I probably enjoyed it, since it's a vampire movie.  I almost always enjoy vampire movies.

Unbreakable – Yes! I do remember this one.  M. Night's followup to 6th Sense – not quite as good perhaps but I still really enjoyed it.  Bruce Willis is one of my favorite actors.

Blair Witch 2 – Lightning could not be coaxed to strike twice on this one.  It was a logical continuation of the first in terms of direction and I enjoyed it okay.  I even rented it, later.

The Cell – A visually surreal film starring Jennifer Lopez in a psycho's dreamscape.  I really liked this movie when it came out.  It should be in my DVD collection, but isn't.

Space Cowboys – A real fun movie, but a very real reminder that Time Marches On for all of us.

Scary Movie – The original title was "Scream If You Know What I Did Last Summer" or something like that.  It was a good lampoon of the then-recent slasher movie trends.  I haven't seen the sequels.

X-Men – The first one that I remember almost nothing about but I've been assured that the most recent one completely sucks in comparison.  Definitely time for a rental.

Shanghai Noon – An old western version of Jackie Chan's "fish out of water" routine.  Don't get me wrong, I love this stuff because he does it very, very well.  I really enjoyed this movie, but not enough to go see "Shanghai Nights".

Battlefield Earth – Well, where to start?  I read the 2500+ page book when it came out in the (mid?) 80's.  It was a good book and hard to set down.  In fact, everyone in my family read it.  The cover of the book had a gold medallion that promised "Soon to be a Major Motion Picture!"  Some books are hard to do as movies, particularly long ones.  This particular story needs a LOT of backstory stuff that drives the main narrative.  Travolta should have done a miniseries with the Sci-Fi channel.

Pitch Black – A fairly modest-budget vehicle that launched a mighty Diesel!  It was a good movie that formed the base of an even better one.

Scream 3 – The only "Scream" movie I saw in the theater, the other two were rentals.  It was good, but not as good as the first one.

Galaxy Quest – This was a fabulous movie, and it was the casting that made it so.  Tim Allen, Sigourny Weaver, and Tony Shalhoub.  This should be in my DVD collection but isn't.

End of Days – Schwarzenegger meets Satan.  Somehow Satan comes out the worst of the deal.

Sleepy Hollow – The old Halloween favorite with a new costume, and you could still enjoy Johnny Depp – pre-asshole.

Sixth Sense – The movie of the year.  It also set a standard that Shyamalan has had a hard time living up to.

Blair Witch Project – Wow, a real blast from the past.  It was the ultra-low budget indie film that got picked up for nationwide distribution and did crazy business.  It showcased the power of internet promotion.  As a movie attender you either loved it or hated it.  You have exactly one guess as to which camp I'm in.

Star Wars Episode I – The most anticipated movie in the world.  I really enjoy it and I saw it again in quick order.  I've never understood the naked, venomous hatred for the Jar-Jar Binks character, myself.  The whole Star-Wars prequel trilogy was apparently a complete and total disaster from the perspective "True" Star Wars fans, but each movie did big & better traffic than the previous.

The Matrix – This film started my movie ticket collection.  Before this one came out I usually waited for VHS rentals and almost never went to the theaters.  I did a quick search and this movie came out in spring 1999.  It's seven years old now.

Wow.  Time moves so fast while being so slow.

Comments

1. geoff - June 3, 2006

If Final Fantasy had had a decent plot, instead of the warmed-over Gaia crap that Hironobu Sakaguchi is addicted to (I say this as a player of almost all of the Final Fantasy game series), it could have been huge. As it was, the $123 million loss crippled Square, forcing them to merge with Enix and pursue cash-generating strategies (like the release of Final Fantasy X-2). The animation has been criticized for a few flaws, but I thought it was incredible.

2. Enas Yorl - June 3, 2006

So it flopped eh? I guess that explains why we didn’t get a sequel. I never played any of the games, though I was aware of them. I didn’t mind the Gaia stuff – it was something different, but I think it did throw a lot of people. “I didn’t understand it” was a comment I heard a lot.

3. Muslihoon - June 3, 2006

Thanks, Enas!

I liked Final Fantasy, although I could not see how it has anything to do with the games of the same name. I guess space travel might have been the link or something. I was confused, yes. But it was awesome for its time nonetheless.

I’ll have to watch End of Days. I liked supernatural movies. I need to find someone to watch movies with. Darn.

4. Sobek - June 4, 2006

Evolution was fun. Galaxy Quest should be required viewing for all American citizens. Anyone who has been to a Star Trek convention knows it’s not really a parody.

5. kevlarchick - June 5, 2006

I saw the Matrix recently, like in the past few months, and I’m still freaking about it. It might be true. Right?

6. Muslihoon - June 5, 2006

Shhhhh, KC. You don’t want Agent Smith to come after you.

7. Enas Yorl - June 5, 2006

Muslihoon, maybe you could rent it and live-blog it at a day/time when one or more of us are available to rent & watch at the same time? I dunno, a thought.

Sobek, Galaxy Quest  – even my Mom enjoyed it and she really doesn't like Tim Allen.

Kevlarchick, yes you just may be a fig newton of a machine's imagination. I wouldn't lose sleep over it, though.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

